Enable or disable conversation view in Gmail

Contents
  1. Turn on Conversation View if you want Gmail to group conversations
  2. How the conversation dialog works in Gmail
  3. Enable or disable conversation view in Gmail

Turn on Conversation View if you want Gmail to group conversations

When Gmail has conversation mode enabled, the service groups emails related to the same subject for easier management. If you don’t like this organization method, you can turn off the conversation view.

For email topics that are just you and one other person, grouping similar topics together can make things easier, but if you’re reading, moving, or deleting messages with a lot of people in the thread, the thread view can be confusing. When you disable it, each message will be displayed individually and in chronological order.

The steps given here are for the desktop version of Gmail. Changing the conversation view settings is not available on the Gmail mobile website, Gmail inbox at inbox.google.com, or the Gmail mobile app.

How the conversation dialog works in Gmail

When conversation view is turned on, Gmail groups and views are displayed together:

  • Messages with the same subject, ignoring prefixes such as “Re” and “Fwd”.

  • Up to 100 emails at a time.

When the subject line changes or the conversation reaches 100 emails, Gmail starts a new conversation.

Enable or disable conversation view in Gmail

The option to turn Gmail’s conversation view on and off is available in your account’s general settings:

  1. Open Gmail in your computer’s browser.

  2. Click the gear icon in the top right corner of the screen.

  3. Select Institutions in the drop-down menu.

  4. On the tab General scroll down until you find the section View conversations

  5. To enable the conversation view, select the switch next to “Conversation Type” † To turn it off, press the button for Conversation display disabled

  6. Click Saving Changes at the bottom of the screen.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.