How to Automatically Empty Trash in Outlook

Content
  1. Automatically empty the Deleted Items folder
  2. How to Automatically Empty Trash in Outlook
  3. Empty Trash in Outlook Online

Automatically empty the Deleted Items folder

When messages are deleted from the Outlook Inbox or another folder, they are moved to the Deleted Items folder. These deleted messages are stored in the Deleted Items folder until you delete the folder. You can manually empty the Deleted Items folder if you want, or you can automatically empty the Deleted Items folder when you close Outlook.

The instructions in this article apply to Outlook 2019, Outlook 2016, Outlook 2013, Outlook 2010, Outlook for Office 365, and Outlook Online.

How to Automatically Empty Trash in Outlook

To set Outlook to automatically empty the Deleted Items folder when you exit the application:

  1. Open Outlook.

  2. Go to the tab File

  3. Select parameters:

  4. In the dialog box Outlook options select Additionally

  5. In chapter Start and close Outlook Check the box Empty deleted items when exiting Outlook

  6. Select Okay to apply the changes and close the window.

Empty Trash in Outlook Online

The Outlook.com Deleted Items folder cannot be deleted automatically. You have to manually empty the trash.

  1. Right click on folder Deleted items

  2. Select Empty folder

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *