How to clear Outlook cache

Contents
  1. Delete cached Microsoft Outlook data
  2. Delete Outlook cache
  3. Clear Autofill Cache

Delete cached Microsoft Outlook data

Microsoft Outlook saves the files you’ve used so that you can easily access them again. These files are known as cache files and can be safely deleted. Clear Outlook cache if old data remains after deletion, which can happen when uninstalling and reinstalling Outlook add-ins. Another reason for deleting cached files is that auto-complete data or other information is displayed after deleting contacts or reinstalling Outlook.

The instructions in this article apply to Outlook 2019, 2016, 2013, 2010, 2007; and Outlook for Office 365.

Delete Outlook cache

Deleting the cache in Outlook will not delete emails, contacts, or other useful information.

  1. Save all work and close Outlook.

  2. Click Windows key + R

  3. In the dialog box Run enter %localappdata%MicrosoftOutlook and press Enter

  4. Double click on the folder RoamCache to view cache files.

    Back up your cache files so you can restore them if something goes wrong.

  5. Press and hold the key to delete cache files Shift , select all files. Then press the button remove or right click on the marked files and select remove

  6. Outlook automatically creates new cache files when you open Outlook.

Clear Autofill Cache

If you just want to clear cache autofill, disable autocomplete so that the cached data is not displayed, or remove cache autofill completely.

  1. Go to the tab File and select parameters:

  2. In the dialog box Outlook options select tab mail

  3. In section Send messages Transparent Use the autocomplete list to suggest names as you type in the To, Cc, and Bcc lines

  4. To clear the autofill cache, select Clear Auto-Complete List † In the confirmation window, select Yes

    Clear the cache to delete auto-complete history without disabling the auto-complete feature in Outlook.

  5. In the dialog box Outlook options select Okay

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.