How to delete deleted messages from IMAP in Outlook

Contents
  1. Empty Recycle Bin and other IMAP email in Microsoft Outlook
  2. How to delete deleted messages in Outlook
  3. For Outlook 2019, 2016, 2013, and 2010
  4. For Outlook 2007
  5. For Outlook 2003
  6. Create a ribbon menu item for cleaning email
  7. What happens if I don’t delete these emails?

Empty Recycle Bin and other IMAP email in Microsoft Outlook

If you delete a message in an IMAP account that is accessible through Outlook, it will not be deleted immediately and Outlook will not move it to the Deleted Items folder. Instead, these posts are marked as for deletion and are sometimes hidden on purpose because you don’t need to see them. So, you need to clean up half-missing emails to remove them from the server.

The instructions in this article apply to Outlook 2019, 2016, 2013, 2010, 2007, 2003; and Outlook for Office 365.

How to delete deleted messages in Outlook

To configure Outlook to immediately and permanently delete messages marked for deletion in IMAP email accounts:

For Outlook 2019, 2016, 2013, and 2010

  1. Go to folder

  2. In a group Clear select Clear

  3. Select Clear checked items in all accounts to remove deleted messages from all IMAP accounts. Or choose to delete messages in a folder or email account.

  4. Select Yes to confirm the permanent deletion of e-mail messages.

  5. Messages are permanently deleted from Outlook.

For Outlook 2007

  1. Go to Change

  2. Select Clear

  3. Select Clear checked items in all accounts † Or choose to delete items for the selected folder or email account.

  4. Confirm that you want to delete the email.

For Outlook 2003

  1. Select Change

  2. Select Delete deleted messages to remove deleted items from the current folder.

  3. Click Yes

Create a ribbon menu item for cleaning email

Instead of using the menu to delete posts, customize the ribbon menu to add a custom button.

  1. Right click ribbon and choose Customize ribbon

  2. In section Main tabs select the menu tab where the new command should be displayed.

  3. Select A new group to display a list labeled New group (custom)

  4. Select rename to give the group a unique name.

  5. Enter new Display name and choose symbol for a custom button.

  6. Select Okay

  7. Select arrow Select commands from and choose All teams

  8. Scroll down to Clear and choose Clear Clear checked items in all accounts Clear checked items in current account Clear checked items in current folder or Cleaning options

  9. Select To add

  10. The command appears under the new group you created.

  11. Select Okay

  12. Your new label appears on adhesive tape

  13. Choose a shortcut to permanently delete email messages.

What happens if I don’t delete these emails?

If you don’t delete these messages regularly, your email account may be accumulating too many of these messages to be deleted and your account will become full. From the point of view of the mail server, the messages still exist.

Some email accounts don’t offer much storage space. If you don’t delete deleted emails, you can quickly exceed your allowed storage space and receive new emails.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.