How to delete Skype contacts

Contents
  1. You don’t have to keep everyone on your list forever.
  2. How to Delete Skype Contacts in Windows/Web
  3. How to Delete Skype Contacts on macOS
  4. How To Delete Skype Contacts On Mobile
  5. How to delete Skype for Business contacts
  6. What happens if a contact is deleted?

You don’t have to keep everyone on your list forever.

Follow these steps when it’s time to delete old Skype colleagues or people whose invitations you’ve accepted to Skype Random Chat. You will receive this list as soon as possible.

How to Delete Skype Contacts in Windows/Web

There are two easy ways to delete Skype contacts in Windows or on the web that work the same way.

The first is to use the context menu in the contact list (shown above) like this:

  1. Right click on an item in the list Contacts

  2. Select Remove from contacts

  3. Select remove in the confirmation window.

Remark † There is no recycle bin for deleted contacts. After you remove them, you need to add them again using one of the methods above.

You can also delete a contact while viewing their profile, as shown in the image above:

  1. First, right-click on the contact you want to delete.

  2. Select View profile

  3. Select in this person’s profile Delete contact

  4. Select remove in the confirmation window.

How to Delete Skype Contacts on macOS

On macOS, the delete option is not available in the context menu of the contact list, but you can delete a contact by viewing their profile.

These are the same steps as described above for Windows.

  1. Right click on the contact you want to delete.

  2. Click View profile

  3. In this person’s profile, click Delete contact

  4. Click remove in the confirmation window.

How To Delete Skype Contacts On Mobile

Whether your mobile operating system is iOS or Android, the steps to delete a contact are similar.

For iOS and Android users

  1. Find the person you need in your contact list.

  2. Press and hold the title then press View profile (for iOS shown above).

  3. Click Delete contact to remove the person from your list (as shown below for Android).

How to delete Skype for Business contacts

The steps you take to delete a contact are the same in Skype for Business, although you’ll see a little different from the normal consumer version of Skype.

To remove a user from Skype for Business, go to the tab context menu Contacts and right-click on a contact. Select a list option Remove from contacts

Remark † Don’t choose Remove from group to easily remove them from the current contact group.

What happens if a contact is deleted?

Do contacts know you’ve deleted them? They won’t receive a notification to notify them of the change, but they can merge it if they try to message you, as they will have to request permission again to contact you. They may also notice that your profile picture and other contact details are gone.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.