How To Delete Snapchat Conversations

Content
  1. Clean up your chat feed and see if you can delete unhappy snaps
  2. Delete Snapchat discussions in your chat
  3. Delete instant messages that have already been sent
  4. Block recipient: this could work
  5. Delete Snapchat History

Clean up your chat feed and see if you can delete unhappy snaps

On Snapchat, conversations happen quickly. Sometimes too fast. Is there a cancel or delete button?

Whether you’re chatting with a friend via text on the chat tab, or swiping photos back and forth with a group of friends, it can be helpful to know there’s a way to put things away when conversations are frequent or you have a change of heart when you send or post something.

Here are three different ways to clean up Snapchat activity.

Delete Snapchat discussions in your chat

1:00

Let’s start with something simple: your chat. This is one of the main tabs that you can access by clicking the speech bubble icon in the bottom menu.

To delete a chat channel:

  1. Go to your profile tab by clicking ghost icon in the top left corner.

  2. Then click gear icon in the top right corner to open the settings.

  3. Scroll down to click Clear conversations In chapter Account actions .

  4. On the next tab, you’ll see a list of friends you’ve chatted with, with X characters next to them, that you can click to remove them from your chat.

When you cleared conversations, you didn’t delete anything that you saved or already sent.

The only thing that resolves the conversation is removing the username from your main chat. If you’ve sent something to a friend and want to undo it, deleting the conversation doesn’t undo the conversation.

On the next slide you should see what options you have if you want to undo something!

Delete instant messages that have already been sent

Okay, now let’s get to the big question everyone wants to know. Is there really a way to send a snapshot?

Unfortunately, Snapchat currently doesn’t have an official feature that allows you to send a snap sent too quickly or to the wrong friend. In previous versions of the app, users believed they could avoid receiving snapshots if they could delete their accounts before the recipient opened their snapshots.

Deleting an account to prevent a recipient from opening an accidentally sent snapshot will no longer work on the most recent version of the Snapchat app.

If you try to delete your account before the recipient opens the snapshot, you must wait 30 days for your account to be officially deleted. Snapchat puts all accounts on a deactivation status for 30 days before they are officially removed in case account holders change their mind and want to reactivate their accounts. This can be done by simply logging into the app during this 30-day deactivation period.

Unfortunately, a deactivated account will not save you from the photos you regret. Even if your friends can’t message you while your account remains inactive, any snaps you sent before you disabled your account will still show up in your recipients’ chat channels for you to view.

Block recipient: this could work

As it turns out, you don’t have to go so far as to delete your account to send a snap. Simply blocking can help.

If you immediately block the recipient, they may not be able to see your photos .

To block a user:

  1. Click their username displayed in the chat tab, or use the search box at the top to find them.

  2. On the text tab that opens, click menu icon which is displayed in the upper left corner.

  3. Then click block on the mini profile tab that slides out on the left side of the screen.

  4. You will be asked if you are sure you want to block this user and to provide a reason.

Remember, blocking a friend on Snapchat will remove them from your friends list and you from theirs. Both of you will have to add each other again to continue the bonding as you are used to.

There is no guarantee that blocking a user will effectively “blow out” your snaps.

If the recipient blocks them faster than you do, they can still see your snaps. Likewise, Snapchat constantly releases updated versions of its app, and this blocking method of preventing snaps from being viewed may not work in future versions.

It is unknown if Snapchat can introduce a new feature that will allow users to send snaps. If you think you sent something that you regret after submitting it, please consider contacting Snapchat via the help page to give the company feedback about the snap feature.

Delete Snapchat History

Finally, let’s get to the Snapchat feature which actually has a delete option: Stories!

Fortunately, Snapchat has an official story delete feature, so you don’t have to worry about an embarrassing snap that takes 24 hours for everyone to see. In case you’re unfamiliar, stories are snapshots of photos and videos you post in the “em” section of My Story, which can be viewed for 24 hours by your friends or anyone (depending on your privacy settings). ) when they visit their Stories tab in the app.

To delete a Snapchat article you’ve posted:

  1. Click on the round icon Story in the top left corner of the camera screen.

  2. Press history which you placed in the menu just below the binding code.

  3. Click trash can icon then confirm you want to delete it and you’re done.

Please note that posting a story and removing it immediately does not guarantee that it will not be viewed by anyone.

If you need to delete multiple stories, delete them one by one. There is currently no feature on Snapchat that allows you to delete stories in bulk.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.