How To Delete Your Gmail Account

Contents
  1. Close Gmail with these easy steps
  2. How To Delete Your Gmail Account
  3. What happens to emails in a deleted Gmail account?
  4. What happens to messages sent to my external Gmail address?

Close Gmail with these easy steps

Yes, you can delete your Google Gmail account and all messages in it. And yes, you can do it and still keep your Google accounts, YouTube, etc!

Maybe you have too many one Gmail account, or you’ve tried it out and prefer the service you used before, or maybe you’re ready to give up email altogether! Good luck with it if so.

The process is not difficult. Of course, you’ll just be asked to press a few times, as well as a password. However, closing a Gmail account and deleting the email in it is quite a simple task.

How To Delete Your Gmail Account

Here’s what you need to do to cancel your Gmail account and remove the associated Gmail address:

  1. Go to your Google account settings.

  2. Select Data and Personalization

  3. On the page that appears, scroll down to Upload, delete or schedule your data.

  4. Click Delete the service or your account.

    You can also select Delete Google Account and Data to delete your entire Google Account (including your search history, Google Docs, AdWords and AdSense, and other Google services).

  5. Then select Remove service on the next page.

  6. You will be prompted to log in to your account.

  7. On the next page you can select the service you want to remove. To delete your Gmail account, click the icon waste paper basket ) next to Gmail.

    Follow this link Download data to be able to download a full copy of your Gmail messages from Google Takeout.

    You can also copy your email to another Gmail account, possibly a new Gmail address.

  8. Enter E-mail address which is different from the address associated with the Gmail account you close, under enter your email address in the Google Sign In dialog box.

    Gmail may have already entered the alternate address you used when you created your Gmail account. The alternate email address you enter here will be your new Google Account username.

    Make sure to enter an email address that you have access to. You need an email address to complete deleting your Gmail account.

  9. Click k Send confirmation email

  10. Open Google’s email ( no [email protected] ) with the subject “Security warning for your linked Google account” or “Gmail deletion confirmation”.

  11. Go to link to delete in the message.

  12. Log in when prompted Gmail account that you delete.

  13. In the Confirm Gmail deletion section, select: Yes, I want to delete [email protected] permanently from your Google account.

  14. Click Delete Gmail.

    This step cannot be undone. After clicking this button, your Gmail account and messages will disappear.

  15. Click Finished

What happens to emails in a deleted Gmail account?

Messages are permanently deleted. You can no longer access it in Gmail.

If you’ve downloaded a copy, either through Google Takeout or through an email program, you can of course use these messages.

If you used IMAP to open Gmail in your email program, only messages copied to a local folder are saved; emails on the server and folders synced with the deleted Gmail account will be deleted.

What happens to messages sent to my external Gmail address?

People who emailed your old Gmail address will receive a message delivery failure † You may want to share the new or alternate old address with the contacts that matter most to you.

Email Security Review: Top 5 Services for 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.