How to delete your Skype account

Content
  1. Made with Skype? Delete it from the computer via the trash bin
  2. Disable paid Skype subscriptions
  3. Remove your account information from the Skype database
  4. Delete a Skype for Business account

Made with Skype? Delete it from the computer via the trash bin

Skype is a great tool to communicate with family members, friends or colleagues via text, voice and even video chat. Due to its ease of use and wide adoption, many common people and large companies use the Skype application to connect with others both across the street and around the world.

That said, Skype isn’t for everyone and you can get to a point where you want to delete your account completely. Maybe you’ve found a superior service, or you just don’t need what Skype has to offer. Regardless of the reason you switched ship, deleting a Skype account is a multi-step process that can be a bit complicated depending on your particular profile details. Luckily, we’ve got you covered for these scenarios.

Since your Skype account is linked to your Microsoft account, you can’t delete it completely without disabling it, meaning you won’t be able to access Windows, Xbox Live, Outlook.com, and other Microsoft services. For the purposes of this guide, we assume that this option is not feasible and instead show you how to avoid billing your Skype account and how to delete your personal information from the Skype database.

If none of the options work and you are sure you want to close your Microsoft account completely, go to the account closing page and follow the instructions carefully until the last step you choose Flag account for closure † Please note that this removal process usually takes 60 days.

Disable paid Skype subscriptions

While many of the features are free, there are also those who buy Skype Credit or subscriptions to use advanced features and services. If you fall into this category and no longer plan to use Skype, please do the following to ensure that you are not charged in the future:

  1. Open a web browser and sign in to Skype at the following URL: https://go.skype.com/myaccount

  2. Once authenticated, you should be taken to the screen My bill † Scroll down to the section Account Information and select Automatic replenishment In chapter Billing and Payments

  3. If you see a message that automatic charging is not enabled, click the button Back in the browser to return to the previous screen. If auto-charging is currently active, take the appropriate steps to disable it before returning to the previous screen.

  4. Check the contents of the left menu bar to confirm if you have active Skype subscriptions. If you do, follow the instructions to undo them accordingly.

  5. As a final and optional precaution, you can remove all available payment methods, such as credit cards or checking accounts, by selecting payment information (also found in the left menu bar) and deleting any details stored there.

Remove your account information from the Skype database

As mentioned before, deleting your Skype account completely will also mean losing your Microsoft account, access to the Windows operating system, and a number of other applications and services. However, you can remove your account information from the database, making it difficult (or even impossible in some areas) to find other Skype users:

  1. Open a web browser and sign in to Skype at the following URL: https://go.skype.com/myaccount

  2. Once authenticated, you should be taken to the screen My bill † Scroll down and select Edit profile which is located both on the left side of the menu and in the section Settings and preferences

  3. The interface should now be displayed Profile † From here on, it is recommended that you add or change any personal information that may be associated with your account, and delete your profile picture. These values ​​can be changed or cleared by first selecting Edit profile and then Save once you are happy with your changes.

  4. Scroll down the page to the section Contact details and do the same and remove any addresses or phone numbers that can be traced back to you.

  5. Finally, scroll down to the section Profile Settings † Clear the check boxes next to Show in search results and Show in offers by selecting them all once.

Despite the steps above, you will never be completely hidden; users who have contacted you before can still do so by selecting their name in their Skype app. However, taking these steps will keep you off the network.

Delete a Skype for Business account

Skype for Business accounts are treated very differently from everyday personal Skype accounts, which are referenced in the tutorials above. If you have a Skype for Business account that you would like to delete, you will most likely need to contact your account administrator. Because these accounts are typically handled on the server side through the Office 365 admin portal, the person or group responsible for Skype in your organization will most likely need to handle the deletion process.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.