- Close these Yahoo Mail accounts with these easy steps
- What does it mean to delete a Yahoo Mail account?
- How To Delete Your Yahoo Mail Account
- Cancel a BT Yahoo Mail Premium account?
- Things to Remember
Close these Yahoo Mail accounts with these easy steps
In just a few steps, you can close your entire Yahoo Mail account and revoke access to your email address, delete all your emails, and stop people from messaging you.
What does it mean to delete a Yahoo Mail account?
If you delete your Yahoo Mail account, you will not only delete your emails and lose access to your account, but you will also lose access to your My Yahoo settings, Flickr account, photos, and other data that are stored in Yahoo Services.
If you pay for Yahoo subscription services, cancel those subscriptions first to avoid unexpected charges. The same goes if you have a Flickr Pro membership.
Close your Yahoo account does not cancel automatic payments linked to your account. As soon as you close your Yahoo Mail account, anyone who tries to send a message to the email address will immediately receive a delivery error message. To avoid confusion and anxiety, let your friends and acquaintances know that you are about to close your Yahoo Mail account – both from the email address you plan to use in the future (so they can easily to contact you) and your Yahoo Mail address (to make sure the message is received).
For more information about what happens after you delete your Yahoo email address and account, see the section at the bottom of this page.
How To Delete Your Yahoo Mail Account
Open Yahoo’s “Delete User” page and enter your username. Click Further †
If you don’t see the option to cancel your account and think you have a BT Yahoo Mail account instead, please see below.
You can recover your forgotten Yahoo email password if you are not sure what it is.
Enter your password. If you have set up an account key, Yahoo will send a message to your mobile phone for verification.
Read the text on the page titled “Consider the following information before proceeding”. It describes what you lose when you delete your Yahoo Mail account. Click or click Get on †
Please re-enter your email address in the field provided.
Select Yes, close this account †
You’ll know it worked when you see the message ‘Your account has been deactivated and scheduled for deletion’.
Click or click Sounds good to return to the Yahoo home page.
In some cases, Yahoo doesn’t actually delete everything for up to 180 days, but that largely depends on the country you signed up from. Data associated with a Yahoo Finance Premium account can be retained for three calendar years.
Cancel a BT Yahoo Mail Premium account?
If you received your Yahoo Mail account from British Telecommunications (BT), you cannot cancel the service through the Yahoo Mail account termination page. However, you can contact BT directly to delete your Yahoo Mail Premium account.
Things to Remember
Here are some important things to know when it comes to deleting your Yahoo account:
- What happens to my Yahoo username and email address? Your username and email address will be available to other users in the future so that they can receive messages for you if senders are still using your old email address.
- Can I recover a closed Yahoo Mail account? Yes, you can reactivate your account even if you marked it for deletion. To access a deleted Yahoo Mail account, log in within 40 days of deletion. You can do this through the regular Yahoo Mail webpage. After you reactivate your account, you will be able to receive emails again, but note that you will not be able to see emails sent to the account while it was closed.
- What happens to emails sent to my address after I close my Yahoo email account? In the meantime (from the time your account has been closed), senders attempting to provide the address of a deleted Yahoo Mail account will receive a delivery error message.
The message might say something like this:
Ошибка доставки SMTP 554: dd Извините, ваше сообщение на адрес ***@yahoo.com не может быть доставлено. Эта учетная запись была отключена или прекращена [# 102]. - mta ***. mail. ***. yahoo.com
However, this message will no longer appear if you reactivate your account as described above.