How to make Gmail display deleted images for safe senders

Content
  1. Automatically see images of people you trust
  2. By clicking the image of each sender or sender? Not necessary.
  3. Gmail automatically displays deleted images for safe senders
  4. Is my computer and privacy still safe with automatic image uploads in Gmail?

Automatically see images of people you trust

Gmail can display images in emails and still be fairly safe from malware and privacy violations.

By clicking the image of each sender or sender? Not necessary.

“Always display images of…”
“Always display images of…”
“Always display images of…”

How many senders can there be, and more specifically, why authorize all your friends, family, colleagues and customers with whom you regularly exchange email? Why click at least once for every newsletter you receive?

You don’t have to: instead, you can let Gmail handle the clicks and authorization itself. For safe senders, Gmail can display images automatically, no click required on your part.

Gmail automatically displays deleted images for safe senders

To have Gmail display deleted images and automatically display them in emails from senders they consider trustworthy:

  1. Search and select gear icon settings ) in the top right corner of Gmail.

  2. Select Settings in the menu that appears.

  3. Go to the tab Occur often † It’s probably the one you came with.

  4. know for sure Always show external images selected next to Pictures

    Select Ask before showing external images to show automatically deleted images only in messages from senders for whom you have enabled deleted content (by clicking Always display images from in a message from them) in the section Images not showing

    Of course, you can always see images in separate emails; Click Show images below under Pictures are not displayed.

  5. Scroll to the bottom of the page and select Saving Changes

Gmail’s inbox always automatically displays images for emails from senders that are considered safe.

Is my computer and privacy still safe with automatic image uploads in Gmail?

Deleted images in emails are used for tracking purposes, they can indicate your approximate location and they can install malware. These are all good reasons not to include automatic image uploads in random emails.

Gmail does a lot to protect you from these risks, even when automatic downloads are enabled.

  • First, Gmail scans all messages and their senders for possible privacy and data threats. If the email comes from an untrusted source or if Gmail suspects malicious intent, the deleted content will not be downloaded.

  • Second, even images in emails from respected senders are not downloaded directly from the sender’s server to your computer. Instead, Gmail adds itself as an image proxy: it queries the image, stores it, and then displays its own copy. The sender only knows that Gmail has downloaded the image.

  • Third, it means that senders cannot use images to set cookies on your browser or determine your physical location; they might know you’ve opened a message if, of course, Gmail downloads an image unique to your email.

  • Keep in mind that these security measures protect your data and privacy only when using Gmail in a browser. Email programs (that connect to Gmail via IMAP or POP) have their own privacy settings for deleted images, and you’ll still benefit from scanning Gmail for malware.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.