How to permanently delete an email in Outlook

Content
  1. Delete messages without sending them to the Deleted Items folder
  2. Why does Outlook support the Deleted Items folder?
  3. Permanently delete email in Outlook Beyond Recovery
  4. Disable the permanent deletion confirmation dialog in Outlook
  5. Empty the Deleted Items folder in Outlook
  6. Empty the deleted items folder with the mouse
  7. Empty the Deleted Items folder from the Outlook menu
  8. Empty the Deleted Items folder when you close Outlook

Delete messages without sending them to the Deleted Items folder

If your Outlook Deleted Items folder fills up quickly and you don’t want to take out the trash, set Outlook to delete email permanently. So the deleted message bypasses the Deleted Items folder when it is deleted from Outlook. Once a message is permanently deleted, it cannot be recovered.

The instructions in this article apply to Outlook 2019, 2016, 2013, 2010; and Outlook for Office 365.

Why does Outlook support the Deleted Items folder?

The Deleted Items folder in Outlook is a handy way to manage messages you no longer need. The Deleted Items folder is a temporary location for deleted messages that makes it easy to recover accidentally deleted items.

To make sure a message cannot be recovered, delete it and then empty the Deleted Items folder. When you empty this folder, all messages, contacts, and other items in the folder are also permanently deleted.

If you want to prevent the message from being sent to the Deleted Items folder and want the message to be deleted permanently, there is an option.

To permanently delete a message (without having a message, go to the Deleted Items folder) in Outlook:

  1. Select the message you want to permanently delete.

    Go to the panel to permanently delete a folder folders and select a folder.

  2. Click Shift+Del . Or go to tab House hold Shift and select remove .

  3. A dialog box opens warning you that the message will be permanently deleted.

  4. Select Yes .

Disable the permanent deletion confirmation dialog in Outlook

To prevent Outlook from asking for confirmation every time you delete a message:

  1. Go to the tab File .

  2. Select parameters: .

  3. In the dialog box Outlook options select Additionally .

  4. In chapter Other uncheck Ask for confirmation before permanently deleting items .

  5. Select Okay .

Empty the Deleted Items folder in Outlook

To permanently delete all emails sent to the Deleted Items folder in Outlook, use the mouse or Outlook menu.

Empty the deleted items folder with the mouse

  1. Right click on folder Deleted items for the account or PST file you want to delete.

  2. Select Empty folder .

  3. A dialog box opens warning you that everything in the Deleted Items folder will be permanently deleted.

  4. Select Yes .

Empty the Deleted Items folder from the Outlook menu

  1. Choose a folder Deleted items .

  2. Go to the tab folder .

  3. In Group Clear select Empty folder .

Empty the Deleted Items folder when you close Outlook

You do not need to empty the Deleted Items folder. Instead, set Outlook to automatically and permanently delete email messages in the Deleted Items folder when you close Outlook.

To remove all items from the Deleted Items folder when you close Outlook:

  1. Go to the tab File .

  2. Select Functions .

  3. In the dialog box Outlook options select Additionally .

  4. In chapter Start and close Outlook Check the box Empty deleted items when exiting Outlook .

  5. Select Okay .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.