How to Prevent Gmail from Making Your Online Status Public

Contents
  1. Disable Chat Status in Gmail
  2. Chat contacts see when you are online and can chat immediately
  3. Prevent Gmail from automatically revealing your online status
  4. Turn off notifications in Gmail
  5. Manage video call invitations

Disable Chat Status in Gmail

When you chat with one of your contacts through Google Hangouts, Gmail adds them to a bar on the left side of your email screen for quick and easy access. Click on a name or picture in the bar to open a chat window where you can start a text or video chat. You can see when one of these hangout contacts is online. They can also see when you are online.

Chat contacts see when you are online and can chat immediately

Your friend or co-worker can automatically see when you’re online across the Google Talk network, including Gmail, and available to chat. If you can opt out of this convenience and control when your contacts can see if you’re online, Gmail offers that level of control, too.

Prevent Gmail from automatically revealing your online status

To prevent your online status from appearing in Gmail automatically and to disable the chat feature for all your contacts.

  1. Click on icon acceleration Institutions ) in the top right corner of any screen in Gmail.

  2. Click Institutions in the menu that appears.

  3. Select tab To chat

  4. Press the radio button next to Disable chat to hide your online status and chat availability.

  5. Click Saving Changes † Gmail will reload and the chat window will no longer be displayed.

Turn off notifications in Gmail

Here’s what to do if you just want to turn off chat notifications for a certain amount of time.

If you turn off notifications, people can still see you’re online, but you won’t get notifications when they tell you.

  1. Click the arrow next to your name in the chat window.

  2. In the next menu, click on the drop-down menu Mute for…

  3. Tap how often you want to turn off notifications. You can keep them quiet for 1, 2, 4, 8, 12 or 24 hours, three days or a week. Click resume under your name to mute notifications before the lock expires.

Manage video call invitations

The stealth mode may no longer exist, but you can control who contacts you. Go back to the menu under the arrow next to your name and select Customize invitation settings † The next screen contains controls that allow certain groups of people to contact you directly or send you an invitation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.