- Pause sending in Gmail so you can send
- Undo Enable Send in Gmail on the web
- Send an email with Gmail
- Send an email using the Gmail mobile app
Pause sending in Gmail so you can send
You just sent this message to Sam V. instead of Sam G.? It may not be too late to take it back. If you use Gmail on the web or through its own mobile app, you can cancel a sent message if you move quickly.
Gmail can be set to pause for 30 seconds before delivering you emails after you click send † You can retrieve an email and recover data from fake recipients, spelling mistakes, poorly worded topics, and forgotten attachments.
You can only cancel sending e-mails if you Cancel Send which is not enabled by default.
Undo Enable Send in Gmail on the web
To have Gmail delay the delivery of sent messages for a few seconds so that you can receive them:
Press the button Institutions in Gmail.
Select Institutions in the menu that appears.
Go to the tab General †
In section Cancel Send select number of seconds , which Gmail must pause before sending emails. The choice ranges from 5 to 30 seconds.
Click Saving Changes †
Send an email with Gmail
After enabling the function Cancel Send in Gmail, you can receive an email as soon as it’s sent. Once you realize you need to make changes to the email sent, you can revoke it in several ways:
Click Cancel in the message that appears above the Gmail screen next to Your message was sent after sending a message. You will see a confirmation message about: shipping has been canceled in the same area when you click Cancel within the time period you set. If you don’t see a confirmation that the message has been canceled, you may not have caught the outgoing message in time. If you’re not sure, check the map Sent Gmail † If it appears there, the email has been sent.
Immediately after sending the message, press the key z on your keyboard and make sure you want to stop the delivery. The same confirmation appears at the top of the Gmail screen Shipping cancelled , but you don’t need to do anything else. Since you don’t need to search for the message on the screen and move the cursor to it from the two methods, this is the faster way to use the undo feature as you only have 30 seconds, which means this preferred way.
Make any necessary changes or additions to the message and resend it.
Send an email using the Gmail mobile app
To unsend an email immediately after sending it using the Gmail mobile app for iOS or Android mobile devices, tap immediately Cancel at the bottom of the screen.
You see a message Cancel , and your email will appear on the screen where you can make changes or additions before resending. If you don’t resend it and click the arrow to return to your inbox, you’ll see the message Draft saved at the bottom of the screen with the option Cancel project. The message is only displayed for a few seconds.