leave group text

Content
  1. Fast! Get rid of annoying message threads on iOS and Android.
  2. Exit group text on Android
  3. Leave Group Text on iPhone

Fast! Get rid of annoying message threads on iOS and Android.

Chances are you’ve been there once: your friends or family make a group text for a specific purpose, but the chatter never fades, resulting in constant text notifications on your phone. While it’s great for keeping in touch with your loved ones, sometimes continuous group text updates aren’t.

Luckily, if you don’t want to see group text notifications anymore on your Android or iPhone, you have options. As you’ll see below, depending on your situation, you may not be able to leave a group text completely without asking the person who started the text to remove you, but at least you can turn off notifications.

Exit group text on Android

Unfortunately, Android users cannot leave the text of a group they are tied to without asking them to delete it, but they can choose to disable notifications.

The following instructions are for the stock messages app on Android. If your Android phone uses another app to send text messages, such as: Messages on your Samsung phone, the process of leaving group text may be different.

Don’t confuse the stock Android messaging app with Android messaging; they are very different things.

  1. Go to group text.

  2. Click on the three vertical dots.

  3. At the bottom of the screen, you will see a small bell icon labeled Notification.

  4. Click on this bell to turn off the call.

  5. You will no longer see messages in the group text unless you go back and click the bell again to accept them. At this point, all missed messages fill the conversation.

Leave Group Text on iPhone

If you are an iPhone user, you have several options to disable unwanted group texts.

Option 1: Disable Notifications

The first option on iOS is to disable group text notifications. To do this, follow these steps:

  1. Open the group text you want to disable.

  2. Click on a contact group at the top of the screen.

  3. Click on the little button Information displayed below the group.

  4. Scroll down and click Hide notifications to turn on.

By choosing Hide notifications ( or Do not disturb in iOS 11 or earlier , you will no longer receive notifications (and the accompanying text sound). ) every time someone in the group sends a new message. You can still view all new posts in a thread by opening the group text, but using this method reduces the distraction.

Option 2. Leave Group Text on iOS

Way real Leaving a conversation is easy (although it’s important to note that this isn’t always an option, even if you’re using the Messages app on your iPhone).

To leave group text on iOS, you need the following conditions:

  • You must be in an iMessage conversation, not a standard group text message. If some group chat users are using Android phones or other apps instead of Messages on iOS, you are in a default group message and the ability to leave group text via Messages is not available.

  • There must be at least four people in a group text, the logic is, of course, that if you leave a three-person conversation, it no longer becomes a group text, but just a simple text between two people. In any case, if you are in a three person iMessage chat, the option is leave this conversation will not be available.

If you can leave group text on iOS, follow these steps:

  1. Open the iMessage group you want to leave.

  2. Press group at the top and then the little button Information under her.

  3. Scroll down to leave this conversation (red, under option) Hide notifications ) and tap it.

  4. To confirm leave this conversation in the dialog box.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.