Remove and disable an Outlook theme

Content
  1. Remove yourself from group messages in Outlook to turn off all notifications
  2. Turn off an Outlook conversation
  3. Enable conversation in Outlook

Remove yourself from group messages in Outlook to turn off all notifications

There may be times when you no longer want messages from a certain message thread to appear in your Microsoft Outlook inbox. Mute the conversation to ignore future messages of the conversation. When you disable a conversation, the messages associated with the conversation thread are deleted and future messages in the conversation thread can’t reach your inbox.

The instructions in this article apply to Outlook 2019, Outlook 2016, Outlook 2013, Outlook 2010, and Outlook for Office 365.

Turn off an Outlook conversation

Follow these steps to delete a conversation and prevent future messages from appearing in your Outlook inbox.

  1. Open the message of the group or thread you want to mute and delete.

    Double click on a message to open it.

  2. In the email window, go to the tab Message .

  3. In Group remove select Ignore the conversation .

    If a message is selected in the message list and does not appear in its own window, click the House and select To ignore .

  4. A dialog box opens warning that the selected conversation and all subsequent messages will be moved to the Deleted Items folder.

  5. Select Ignore the conversation .

Ignoring a message does not permanently delete the message or other email messages from the sender. It also doesn’t block those email addresses or install email filters. It only ignores messages in one specific thread or group message.

Enable conversation in Outlook

To restore a conversation from the Deleted Items folder and ensure that future messages in the thread appear in your Outlook inbox:

  1. Open folder Deleted items .

  2. Open the message related to the conversation you want to restore.

  3. Go to the tab Message and select To ignore .

  4. If prompted, select: Stop ignoring the conversation .

Enabling a conversation will restore messages in the Deleted Items folder that belong to that specific thread.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.