Reset the importance status of MS Outlook emails

Create an MS Outlook rule for “important” emails

Changing the priority of a message in Microsoft Outlook is an easy way to show people that their message is really important and needs to be dealt with as quickly as possible. If some of your contacts use the high priority flag more than they should, create a rule in Microsoft Outlook that automatically lowers the importance of their emails if they send them with high priority.

The instructions in this article apply to Outlook 2019, 2016, 2013, 2010; and Outlook for Office 365.

Automatically downgrade an email’s importance status

When you downgrade a sender’s emails, the email is not deleted and no other changes are made. It just lowers the importance from high to normal so that the message has the same status as normal messages.

  1. Select File > Information > Manage Rules and Alerts .

  2. In the dialog box Rules and Warnings go to Email Rules and choose new rule .

  3. V rule master go to section Start with an empty line and choose Apply rule to received messages .

  4. Select Further .

  5. Check box of people or a public group and check the box marked as important .

  6. In chapter Step 2 select people or public group .

  7. In the dialog box Rule address select the contact to which this rule should apply and select By . Add as many contacts as you want.

    Select contacts from your address book or enter their email addresses manually. If you enter them manually, separate each email address with a semicolon (;).

  8. Select Okay .

  9. V rule master go to section Step 2 and choose interest .

  10. Click the drop-down arrow Interest and select High . This is the type of email that the rule will follow.

  11. Click Okay to save and close the window Interest .

  12. Select Further .

  13. To tell Outlook what to do with messages marked as important, select the check box mark it as important .

  14. In chapter Step 2 select interest .

  15. Click the drop-down arrow Interest select usual and then select Okay . This will bring all important emails from selected contacts back to normal.

  16. Select Further .

  17. On screen Are there any exceptions? select rule wizard Further .

  18. Enter a descriptive name for the rule.

  19. Select Finished to save and exit the line rulers .

  20. In the warning window, select Okay .

  21. Your new rule will be listed in the email rules.

  22. Click Okay to close the dialog Rules and Warnings .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.