Share access to your Gmail account

Contents
  1. Set up a designated delegate to manage Gmail on your behalf.
  2. Assign a delegate to your Gmail account
  3. Sign in to your Gmail account as a delegate
  4. What a Gmail delegate can and cannot do
  5. Revoke Delegate Access to Gmail Account

Set up a designated delegate to manage Gmail on your behalf.

You can grant someone else access to your Gmail account so that they can read, send, and delete emails on your behalf and manage their contacts by naming them as a delegate in their account. This solution is more convenient and secure than giving another user your password to access your Gmail account.

Giving your password is a lot of trouble and with a Google account you can also access all your Google services.

Make sure the person you want to call a delegate has a Gmail account with a Gmail.com email address. No one can serve as an assigned delegate without a Gmail account.

Assign a delegate to your Gmail account

The designated delegate has limited access to your Gmail account. They cannot view or change important account settings. Here’s how to call a delegate.

  1. Click on icon Institutions in the top right corner of the screen.

  2. Select Institutions in the menu that appears.

  3. Click or tap a tab Accounts and Import

  4. In section Grant access to your account click or click Add another account

  5. In the field, enter the Gmail email address of the person you want your account to be handled E-mail address and then tap or tap Next step

  6. Click Send an email to grant access

  7. Wait for the recipient to accept the request. The recipient must accept your request before acting as your email delegate.

Sign in to your Gmail account as a delegate

To open a Gmail account that you’re assigned to as a delegate:

  1. open you Gmail account and click the icon profile in the top right corner of your Gmail screen.

  2. Select the desired account in the section Delegated Accounts

  3. The owner and all other delegates with access can simultaneously read and send email through the delegate Gmail account.

What a Gmail delegate can and cannot do

The assigned Gmail account delegate can do several things, including:

  • Read and send emails, including replies. However, when a delegate sends a message through an account, their email address is shown as the sender.

  • Delete messages

  • Access and manage your Gmail account contacts.

However, as a delegate you do not get full access. They can not:

  • Chat with anyone who uses Hangouts.

  • Change your Gmail password.

Revoke Delegate Access to Gmail Account

To remove a person from the list of delegates who can access your Gmail account:

  1. Go to the tab Accounts and Import by clicking the gear icon > Settings > Accounts & Import.

  2. In section Grant access to your account click or click remove next to the email address of the member you want to revoke.

  3. Click Okay

  4. Any delegate who has access to your Gmail account when you remove that person’s delegate status can perform actions until they close their Gmail session.

Google can ban a Gmail account that grants delegate status to too many people in multiple locations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.